The BAZA 2021 award winner is Marta Djourina


  • from Jan 15, 2021
  • till Mar 1, 2021

The BAZA award winner for 2020 is Maria Nalbantova.

Nominated artists: Boryana Petkova, Kalas Liebfried (Калоян Любомиров), Maria Nalbantova, Natalia Jordanova, Yavor Kostadinov.

For the sixth time this year the Essential Reading for Art Writers Award, an initiative of the Institute of Contemporary Art – Sofia, was presented.

The 2018 award is presented to Stefka Tsaneva.

The BAZA award winner for 2019 is Valko Chobanov.

Nominated artists: Aleksander Aleksandrov, Maria Nalbantova, Milena Georgieva, Nevena Ekimova, Radostin Sedevchev, Sevda Semer, Valko Chobanov, Veneta Androva.

The BAZA award winner for 2018 is Martin Penev


BAZA Award for contemporary art nominees:
Marta Djourina, Martin Penev, Natalia Jordanova, Pepa Ivanova, Radostin Sedevchev, Sophia Grancharova, Stefan Ivanov, Valko Chobanov.

The jury members are:
Boshko Boskovic, Karina Kottova, Stefka Tsaneva, Vera Mlechevska, Vladiya Mihaylova

The BAZA award winner for 2017 is Martina Vacheva


Nominated artists:


Alexander Alexandrov

Georgi Tomov Georgiev

Leda Vaneva

Martina Vacheva

Martin Penev

Stanimir Genov

Valko Chobanov


The BAZA award winner for 2016 is Dimitar Shopov

Sofia City Art Gallery and Institute of Contemporary Art – Sofia
together with:
Foundation for Culture and Society, New York and Young Visual Artists Awards

Exhibition of the BAZA Award for contemporary art nominees:

Albena Baeva, Boryana Petkova, Dimitar Shopov, Kalina Terzieva, Stanimir Genov

June 21 – July 17, 2016
Exhibition opening: June 21 (Tuesday), 6 pm.

The BAZA winner for 2015 is Aleksandra Chaushova

Nominated artists:

Aleksandra Chaushova

Desislava Unger

Kristina Irobalieva

Pavel Lefterov

Stela Vasileva

Vladislav Georgiev

The jury members for the 2015 competition are:
Galina Dimitrova-Dimova (curator), Ivana Nencheva (artist), Vessela Nozharova (curator), Diana Popova (critic), Sasho Stoitzov (artist).

BAZA Award for Contemporary Art 2014

Nominated artists:

Albena Baeva

Dimitar Solakov

Kalina Terzieva

Leda Vaneva

Lyben Petrov

Nestor Kovachev

Svetozara Alexandrova

Zoran Georgiev

Jury: Galina Dimitrova-Dimova, Iara Boubnova, Kalin Serapionov, Maria Vassileva, Sasho Stoitzov

Exhibition: June 12 – July 6, 2014
Sofia City Art Gallery


The BAZA award winner for 2014 is Zoran Georgiev


The BAZA award winner for 2013 is Kiril Kuzmanov

BAZA Award 2013 - Nominated artists:

Dimitar Solakov

Emilian Lalev

Iskra Blagoeva

Kiril Kuzmanov

Nikolay Zanev

Sasho Popovski

Stela Vasileva

Zoran Georgiev

1 / 2

Visit us

  •   134, Vasil Levski Blvd. (entrance from Ekzarh Yosif St.), 1504, Sofia , Bulgaria
      Open: Tuesday – Saturday, 3 – 7 pm and by appointment
      Get directions

Contact us

  • +359 2 8466261
      This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
      Subscribe to our channel
      Become a Fan
    Follow us
      Subscribe to Our RSS Feed


We use Mailchimp to send regular newsletters to our audience.

By subscribing, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. More about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.